HealthData.gov: Creates easily accessible, constantly updated and downloadable health data sets and tools for researchers who want to solve problems. Their data sets come from the Department of Health and Human Services agencies.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS): This website provides access to many health statistic sources from published works, data briefs on specific topics, public use data files, and more.
World Health Organization (WHO): Provides data through the Global Health Observatory Data Repository and statistical reports through the yearly publication of the World Health Statistics Report.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Provides access to the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), a database on nationwide and state-specific hospital care data; the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey which gives access to data on cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage; and the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports. Users can create their own tables and statistics using a free system called HCUPnet.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: This website provides data compiled by the CDC, such as has COVID-19 data tracking, deaths and mortality, cancer, diabetes, heart disease, immunizations, and more.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: This interactive website ranks the overall health status of most U.S. counties and offers access to measure health outcomes such as determinants for mortality and morbidity.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: This U.S. federal agency provides downloadable yearly reference booklets, detailed stats on Medicare, Medicaid, and other CMS programs, a hospital compare online tool, and a CMS data navigator that allows users to specify a type of data when searching.
Kaiser Family Foundation: a non-profit foundation that provides research, journalism, and communications programs. Their resources include state health facts and global health fact (divided by country).
United States Census Bureau: The best source for current data and statistics about. U.S. population and economy. It provides interactive statics using the American FactFinder and hosts a health insurance page that provides statistical reports, tables, and more.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care: this website was created in 1993 as a study of health care markets that now provides data tables, maps, publications, and more.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)- Contains military specific reports such as "Mortality Surveillance in the U.S. Army." CAC required
Health and medical data is collected in many ways, including surveys, medical records, claims data, vital records, surveillance, and more. Check out the National Library of Medicine's website on Health Data Sources to explore more.
Search more complex statistical analyses on health topics by entering detailed search terms in academic databases such as:
