AMA: Medical Research
APA: Education, Psychology, Sciences
MLA: Humanities
Chicago/Turabian: Business, History, Fine Arts
Global College Style/AU-1: Air University papers
Use these free tools to help catalog, organize, create bibliographies, and generate citations for your research. Having difficulties deciding? Check out What Makes a Bad Reference Manager.
: a free, easy-to-use tool that helps users collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research.
: a free service that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style.
: a commercial reference manager that helps you save time formatting citations, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays, reports, and articles. EndNote Basic is a web-based version of EndNote that is available for free.
: Mendeley provides a free or premium version of their software. This program, owned by Elsevier, allows researchers to create libraries and generates references, citations, and bibliographies with a few clicks.
: a free, open source program that helps you organize, create, and discover academic literature. Docear combines several tools including reference and file management, pdf annotation import, mind mapping, and supports multiple projects.
The AMA format was created by the American Medical Association and is commonly used for medical research. The current guide, AMA Manual of Style, 11th Edition (2020) is available as a print book at the BAMC Medical Library. The book provides additional information on publishing research findings involved in medical, health, and scientific writing and publishing.
AMA Manual of Style online: The official manual is available online. Patrons can search within the manual and website itself for specific topics. The website also provides a Units of Measure Converter for conventional and metric measurements, as well as selected laboratory tests and conversion factors.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: an online website that helps guide users on how to cite print and electronic sources in AMA.
Journal Article:
Heath G, Dorrian J, Coates A. Associations between shift type, sleep, mood, and diet in a group of shift working nurses. Scand J Work Environ Health, 2019;45(4):402-412. doi:10.5271/sjweh.3803
Book:
Christiansen S, Iverson C, Flanagin A, et al. AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors. 11th ed. Oxford University Press; 2020.
Chapter of Book:
Goda TS, Gee B, Dean B. Minimally Invasive Cardiac Surgery. In: Hardin SR, Kaplow R. Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing. 2nd ed. Jones & Bartlett Learning; 2016:99-124.
Webpage:
Hosely M. Sickle Cell Disease: The importance of amplifying patient voices. Advarra. March 10, 2023. Accessed April 21, 2023. https://www.advarra.com/blog/sickle-cell-disease-the-importance-of-amplifying-patient-voices/
The APA format was created by the American Psychological Association and is commonly used for scholarly writing. The current guide, Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition (2020) is available as a print book at the BAMC Medical Library. The style is widely adopted in multiple languages, and is often the style of choice for writers, researchers, students, and educators in social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, and other fields. Microsoft Word provides an official APA 7th edition template in their program.
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines: This is the official online website for APA that provides guidelines for paper formats, in-text citations, mechanics, references, and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: an online website that helps guide users on how to cite print and electronic sources in APA.
Journal Article:
Book:
Chapter of Book:
Webpage:
The Chicago format was created in 1906 by the University of Chicago Press and is commonly used in historical research. The current guide, The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition (2017) is available as a print book at the BAMC Medical Library. The book provides additional information on the expanding electronic resources we commonly see today, including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content. What's unique about the Chicago Style is that it uses a notes and bibliography system rather than in-text citations using parentheses.
The Turabian format was published by the University of Chicago Press, the same creators of the Chicago Style. It is a mainly used for writing and formatting research papers, theses, and dissertations. The current guide, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th Edition (2018) is available for free online. The book helps writers who require a strong structure for evidence-based arguments and research questions.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online: The official online Chicago Manual of Style that provides citation quick guides, Q&As, video tutorials, and the book contents itself.
Purdue Online Writing Lab for Chicago Manual: an online website that helps guide users on how to cite print and electronic sources using Chicago style.
Turabian--A Manual for Writers: The official online website for the Turabian style. This website provides citation quick guides, tools and tips, and the contents of the official book.
Below are some other widely used (and not so widely used) citation styles that may be of some interest. We've included online resources that will provide helpful instructions on using each style.
The MLA Handbook, 9th edition (2021) was created by the Modern Language Association of America, and is commonly used for humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: a FREE website that provides formatting and style guides to the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook.
MLA Style Guide by OWL Purdue: a list of YouTube videos that provide instructions on using MLA citation.
Many Air University schools follow the AU Style and Author Guide (AU-1), which is based on the Chicago Manual of Style. The current guide was created by the Air University Press at Maxwell AFB, AL. In addition, many Air University schools may also use the Global College Style from the Air University Global College of PME, home of the Air University Press, a primary academic publisher of the US Air Force.
For more information on how to use AU-1 Style and Author Guide or the Global College Style Guide, visit the Air University Library libguide that provides the official guides for online use, as well as quick guides and other helpful resources.