Purdue OWL's Tips for Effective SOAP Notes
StatPearls SOAP NOTES
Improving your presentation skills: SOAP and beyond by Ogie M. Ezeoke, MD.
These books have chapters on SOAP:
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Surgery
by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their surgery rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Surgery edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by an experienced PA educator, this guide details common surgical procedures you'll see, such as thyroidectomy, hernia repair, mastectomy, and appendectomy. It also provides important information on surgical emergencies, including gastrointestinal bleeding, perforated viscus, and limb ischemia. System-based chapters reviewing the presentation and management of common conditions that may require surgery are also included. Advice on taking good SOAP notes, guidance on how to prepare patients for surgery, and tips on surgical etiquette will help you excel during this intense rotation. Additional chapters on pre- and post-operative management of patients, sterile technique, and common wound closure methods will arm you with the knowledge you'll need to succeed. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA surgery rotationDescribes common surgical procedures and emergenciesOffers clinical pearls throughoutIncludes key abbreviations you'll need to decipher in documentationReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineEmergency MedicineOB-GYNPediatricsBehavioral Health
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs
by
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. NEW: Chapter on pain management, which contains relevant discussions about the opioid crisis, alternative strategies for the physical therapist (PT), and outcomes related to the PT for pain managementNEW: Chapter addressing soft skills and communicationA robust photo and art program that includes coverage of manual muscle testing, range of motion, PNF, gait cycle, and developmental sequencesEasy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the textIncorporates the American Physical Therapy Association's (APTA) Direction and Supervision Algorithms in an enhanced discussion of interprofessional collaborationA range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient © 2023 | 752 pages
BAMC library has a fellowship with BMJ Case Reports, which waives the publishing fee with this journal. Contact the Medical Library to get more information.
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal
by
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal, Third Edition offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves and coverage of the updated electronic NIH process and new scoring system is included.
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals
by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health
Communication Skills for Your Nursing Degree
by
Communication Skills for your Nursing Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and healthcare settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare
by
Awarded second place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Research category! The go-to guide to evidence-based practice in nursing for more than a decade, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 5th Edition, presents the latest perspectives on research-backed nursing practice in an engaging, user-friendly approach that has made this the bestselling resource of its kind. AJN award-winning authors Bernadette Melnyk and Ellen Fineout-Overholt combine straightforward, conversational storytelling, inspiring quotes, and engaging case studies to make evidence-based practice accessible for students at any level of familiarity. With real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter, this revised and reimagined 5th Edition gives students the confidence to meet today's clinical challenges and ensure the most effective patient outcomes for years to come. New to this edition: NEW! Reimagined coverage and a new chapter on applying implementation science to clinical practice settings familiarize students with the latest evidence and emerging implementation and evaluation tools. UPDATED! Content throughout empowers you to more effectively teach evidence-based practice principles in academic and clinical settings. UPDATED! Making EPB Real case studies reinforce clinical application through real-world examples.
Writing the Literature Review
by
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources. Pedagogical Features *Checklists and "To Do" activities that break down key steps to take. *Boxed examples, graphics that organize and visually illustrate key concepts, and summary tables. *Group activities that invite students to further explore and apply the methods discussed in each chapter. *Detailed directions for using four different organizing strategies: synthesis matrix, summary table, mapping, and topic outline. *End-of-chapter summaries and "What's Next" sections. *Assessment matrices for reviewing and refining the completed literature review. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Grammar and Writing Skills for the Health Professional
by
Extremely student friendly, GRAMMAR & WRITING SKILLS FOR THE HEALTH PROFESSIONAL, 3e, focuses on the fundamentals of grammar and writing to help you develop the skills to communicate clearly and effectively in real-world practice. An indispensable resource the can be used during your schooling as well as you when enter your career, the text is divided into three modules. The first focuses on basic grammar (nouns, pronouns, verbs) and the second on more advanced topics (sentences and paragraphs). The third module helps you develop writing skills for medical reports, correspondence, emails, office meeting minutes, progress notes, charting, research, and brochures. The text's unique writing process can also be used for cover letters and resumes. In addition, the text includes current information on HIPAA, the Joint Commission, American Health Management Information Association, and much more, while real-world applications at the end of every section illustrate how chapter concepts relate to your future career.
Medical Writing
by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Writing to Improve Healthcare
by
This new book is a 'what and how to' guide to writing for successful scholarly publication in the emerging fields of healthcare improvement and patient safety. While there are many useful authors' aids for scholarly biomedical publication, none focuses explicitly on these relatively new fields. It offers practical advice that includes preparation and organization of a scholarly healthcare improvement manuscript, where to submit it to find the most likely interested editor and journal, how to take full advantage of coauthors' working together effectively, and strategies for authors to reach a broader health professions readership.
The Elements of Style
by
The original edition of the concise classic, with essential advice for aspiring writers like "omit needless words." With simple principles and helpful tips on usage and composition, as well as lists of common errors to avoid, The Elements of Style was first published during World War I by Cornell University professor William Strunk Jr. Originally intended for Cornell students, it would become widely renowned as a memorable short guide for those who want to write clear, correct, and effective prose. A staple in countless classrooms and a touchstone for generations, it is still relevant and useful a century later.
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper
by
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper: A Practical Guide It is witty from the opening paragraph...'Final Advice' is just two pages but, alone, justifies the price of the book. -- The Journal of Laryngology & Otology Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones. which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes. Special Features: Abundant information about a complex subject condensed in a small format Numerous examples from bad manuscripts to drive home concepts Practical advice on mistakes to be avoided Explanation of the fate of a manuscript after its submission and, eventually, acceptance, to help writers understand expectations and responses Lucid language, and enjoyable read This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in scientific publishing. Junior medical scientists (independent of specialty), experienced scientists who wish to venture as authors, reviewers, and even editorial personnel can refer to the book time and again.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy
by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. Please note that an access code to supplemental content such as Appendix C: Data Visualization is not included with the eBook purchase. To access this content please purchase an access code at www.jblearning.com/catalog/9781284133943/.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine
by
This new edition makes many of the basic and advanced concepts of biostatistics more accessible to readers. It is one of the few books that focus on how appropriate statistical presentation can enhance both comprehension and credibility. This is a perfect reference guide for those with either a rudimentary or an advanced statistical background.
How to Write a Scientific Paper
by
Writing a scientific paper is hard. In particular, if you are a Ph.D. student, you probably know what the fear of the blank page means--writing can feel overwhelming. But a systematic approach helps. This book provides a step-by-step, top-down approach that makes it easier to turn your results into research papers that are focused, exciting, and readable. The book focuses on the process of writing instead of technicalities, breaking this process into manageable chunks. How to choose the main point of your paper? How to write its abstract, sentence by sentence? How to outline the paper? How to turn the outline into a first draft and then into a finished manuscript? What to do if you get stuck? And finally, how to deal with critical reviews? Here is what you get: A complete step-by-step plan for writing research papers, from choosing which results to include to wrapping up the paper in the Discussion section Concrete, actionable, and practical advice, from a paragraph-level template for the Introduction to guidance on preparing plots and figures Lots of writing tips, from placing signposts in your text to shortening and straightening your sentences This book has been written for the PhD student who is aiming to write a journal article on her research results, but it can be recommended to academics of all levels. The book includes PART I: STORY 1. How To Choose The Key Point Of Your Paper 2. How To Choose The Supporting Results 3. How To Write The Abstract 4. How To Choose The Title PART II: OUTLINE 5. The Power Of Outlining 6. How To Write The Introduction, Part I: Structure 7. How To Write The Introduction, Part II: A Four-Paragraph Template 8. How To Write The Introduction, Part III: The Lede 9. How To Write The Materials And Methods 10. How To Write The Results, Part I: Figures 11. How To Write The Results, Part II: Text 12. How To Write The Discussion PART III: WORDS 13. How Does Your Reader Read? 14. How To Write Your First Draft 15. How To Edit Your First Draft 16. Tips For Revising Content And Structure 17. Tips For Editing Sentences PART IV: IT'S NOT OVER YET 18. How To Write The Cover Letter 19. How To Deal With Reviews About the author I am a professor of computational science and an experienced academic with around 100 published papers. My research is interdisciplinary, to say the least: I have studied the social fabric of smartphone users, the genetic structure of ant supercolonies, the connectome of the human brain, networks of public transport, and the molecular biology of the human immune system, to name a few. I am also interested in scientific writing as a craft. So one could say that I have a broad range of interests--or that I just can't choose, but that's exactly how I like it!
Becoming an Academic Writer
by
With its friendly, step-by-step format, the Third Edition of Becoming an Academic Writer helps readers improve their writing by engaging in deep, deliberate, and daily practice. Author Patricia Goodson designed this book for anyone in an academic setting who must write to survive, from new graduate students to senior faculty. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical and flexible self-paced guide is organized so readers can either work through the exercises in order, or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice. The Third Edition features an expanded unit on how to manage the reading required for any writing project - a strategy to help writers avoid getting bogged down in this crucial step. Updated material, alongside testimonials from students and readers, new appendices on topics such as processing reviewer feedback, and new "Research Shows" boxes help readers address important hurdles to developing a lower-stress, sustainable writing habit.
Critical Thinking, Reading, and Writing
by
Critical Thinking, Reading, and Writing is a brief yet versatile resource for teaching argument, persuasive writing, and research. It makes argument concepts clear and gives students strategies to move from critical thinking and analysis to crafting effective arguments. Comprehensive coverage of classic and contemporary approaches to argument -- Aristotelian, Toulmin, Rogerian, visual argument, and more -- provides a foundation for nearly 50 readings on current issues, such as student loan forgiveness and gun violence, topics that students will want to engage with and debate. For today's ever-increasingly visual learners who are challenged to separate what's real from what's not, new activities and visual flowcharts support information literacy, and newly annotated readings highlight important rhetorical moves. This affordable guide can stand alone or supplement a larger anthology of readings.
Health Literacy From A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Third Edition
by
"Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Third Edition is written for professionals, students, and others who care a lot about clearly communicating health messages. It also is for people who have multiple projects competing for time and attention. In other words, this book is written for you. Intended as an easy-to-use guide, this book is written in a way to inform and inspire you without being overwhelming"--Publisher's description.
Health Literacy and Libraries
by
"This book will provide a compilation of relevant research as well as tried-and-true based practices to health literacy informed outreach. An overview of health literacy and health literacy measurements will be included"-- Provided by publisher.
Language and Literacy
by
"Language and Literacy Connections: Intervention for School-Age Children and Adolescents takes readers on a path of knowledge steeped in principles and practical applications. This much-needed new text uniquely integrates language learning and disorders and literacy together in a coherent and cohesive narrative that covers the challenges facing school-age students from early elementary levels through high school. Using past and current research and interventions from speech-language pathology (SLP) and reading and literacy arenas, the authors present transcripts, cases, and detailed intervention sessions to provide a template for daily practice. The text raises questions relating to "why am I doing this?" and provides some answers to this most complex, yet basic, question"--
Health Literacy in Nursing
by
"Dr. Parnell has captured the essence of health literacy and cultural competence, not only for nurses, but also applicable to all care providers and community workers. [and] provides us with a road map to enhance our success through health literacy and cultural competence. This is a must read for all health professionals." -Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS (From the Foreword) 17th Surgeon General of the United States (2002-2006) Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona Promoting the health literacy of patients across all settings is an essential component of prevention, wellness, and effective medical treatment. This health literacy textbook provides an overview of health literacy, discusses the magnitude of the issue, and explains implications of low health literacy. It details strategies to enhance effective communication between patients and nursing practitioners. Through case-based examples, this textbook and clinical guide assists nurses in developing the requisite skills needed to communicate effectively so that patients can truly make informed health decisions and enhance health outcomes. Health Literacy in Nursing promotes verbal and written communication strategies that nurses can use to effectively meet the individualized needs of an increasingly diverse patient population in an effort to enhance patientñprovider communication across the entire continuum of care. It provides strategies for creating culturally appropriate written materials in plain language that patients can read and follow when they arrive home. Nursing professionals can build upon the basic tools offered in the text throughout their career to stay abreast of methods to effectively communicate and educate a culturally and linguistically diverse demographic. Additionally, the material can easily be incorporated into course content regarding ìunique populationsî (pediatrics, older adults, research participants, and those managing mental health and end-of-life care decisions) for whom health literacy is often overlooked. The book will be valuable to undergraduate and graduate nursing students studying to meet advanced nurse practice competencies and is an essential resource for practicing nurses who must stay abreast of evolving standards and regulations related to the provision of safe and effective patient and family-centered care. Key Features: Provides a solid foundation for developing skills that foster health literacy among all patients and practitioners Assists in meeting the regulatory requirements for providing culturally and linguistically appropriate patient education Includes guidelines for improving health literacy according to increasingly evolving regulatory standards Includes case-based examples to illustrate the purpose and effectiveness of enhancing patient and provider health literacy skills Addresses both oral and written communication strategies
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator: Bridging the Gap Between Assessment and Intervention
by
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator is a practical guide on how to 'bridge the gap' between the ability to assess, interpret, and analyze assessment information in order to derive functional goals for intervention. Contributed by experts in the field, this resource is appropriate for both novice and experienced clinicians in the field of Speech-Language Pathology and Special Education, as well as students learning to develop and write functional goals for different disorders and populations. Case scenarios available with each chapter provide real-world context for how to develop goals from the assessment process.Unit A Writing Goals: The BasicsChapter 1 The Elements of Goal WritingChapter 2 Historical Perspective of Goal Writing and Contemporary PracticeUnit B Writing Goals in Speech-Language Pathology, Aural Rehabilitation(AR)/Habilitation, and Special EducationChapter 3 Language Disorders in ChildrenChapter 4 Speech Disorders in ChildrenChapter 5 Pediatric Feeding and Swallowing DisordersChapter 6 Adult DysphagiaChapter 7 Adult Neurogenic Communication DisordersChapter 8 Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)Chapter 9 Aural Rehabilitation (AR)/ HabilitationChapter 10 Fluency DisordersChapter 11 Voice DisordersChapter 12 Reading Disabilities: Skill Development throughAssessment, Goals, and Strategic InstructionChapter 13 Writing DisordersChapter 14 Math Disabilities: Skill Development throughAssessment, Goals, and Strategic Instruction
Communicating Nutrition
by
Written and reviewed by experienced nutrition communicators and educators, this authoritative guide provides the knowledge and skills needed to develop and deliver all types of communication in a variety of settings. Students, interns, and practitioners alike will find this to be an indispensable resource. The book's 42 chapters are presented in 8 sections, each with an opening showcase featuring a communication success story and applied advice. Highlights of the chapters include guidance on: Writing and interpreting scientific research Developing science-based messages Addressing misinformation Customizing communications to various audiences Delivering effective presentations Mastering media interviews Using social media, websites, videos, and demonstrations Communicating in business settings-and much more! Theoretical background for best practices in nutrition communication is addressed throughout to help build foundational knowledge and skills. This is rounded out with words of experience, hands-on strategies, and real-life stories in every chapter, along with objectives, checklists and key takeaways.
Scientific Papers and Presentations
by
Electronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. The third edition of Scientific Papers and Presentations applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication, provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide. Covers all aspects of communication for early scientists from research to thesis to presentations. Discusses how to use multi-media effectively in presentations and communication Includes an extensive appendices section with detailed examples for further guidance
Writing to Improve Healthcare
by
This new book is a 'what and how to' guide to writing for successful scholarly publication in the emerging fields of healthcare improvement and patient safety. While there are many useful authors' aids for scholarly biomedical publication, none focuses explicitly on these relatively new fields. It offers practical advice that includes preparation and organization of a scholarly healthcare improvement manuscript, where to submit it to find the most likely interested editor and journal, how to take full advantage of coauthors' working together effectively, and strategies for authors to reach a broader health professions readership.
Principles of Forensic Report Writing
by
Principles of Forensic Report Writing explores the psychology of report writing, including the motivations of readers and writers, communicative and performative concerns, and the cognitive science that applies to the process. The book addresses foundational principles rather than mechanics and how these feed back to the assessment process. Emphasis is placed throughout on the problem of applying general research, nomothetic tests, and generally useful actuarials to specific cases.
Effective Writing in Psychology
by
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helps users produce crisp scientific communication, form concise unambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear and comprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelines contained within the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual. Clear guidelines on effective writing illustrate how to generate strong and compelling prose, even when the writing is not aimed at a research audience Incorporates changes to the guidelines contained in the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Includes material on how to adapt APA style for poster presentations using PowerPoint, and for oral presentations Contains a new section on using the Internet to present research papers and a new chapter on conducting a literature search, to guide students through databases, keywords, sources, and connections between articles Highlights methods for selecting a research topic and organizing papers Features a sample manuscript showing common deviations from correct APA style and a version demonstrating appropriate use of APA style
Radiology Structured Reporting Handbook
by
A practical guide for radiologists on providing high yield disease-specific reports Multiple studies show that referring physicians have a clear preference for structured radiology reports due to clarity and ease of interpretation, yet a one-size-fits all approach does not address disease complexities. Concurrently, the use of structured radiology templates has increased, driven in part by the need to comply with big data and artificial intelligence as well as reimbursement. Standardization of reporting is one of the first essential steps in the transformation of radiology from "the art of imaging" to a robust data science. Radiology Structured Reporting Handbook: Disease-Specific Templates and Interpretation Pearls by Professors Olga R. Brook, Wieland H. Sommer, and esteemed colleagues is a highly practical guide on structured reporting for every major area of radiology. Featuring disease-specific templates, the book is organized in six sections and 53 chapters. Section one covers core foundation topics, from different definitions of structured reporting and pros and cons to change management and how to build templates. Five disease-specific sections encompass specific cancers and a variety of abdominal, thoracic, neurological, and cardiovascular diseases and conditions. Key Highlights Downloadable disease-specific templates for a variety of clinical entities including cardiovascular, thoracic, abdominal, oncological, and neuroradiology Essential interpretation pearls for specific diseases from top experts in a bullet format, accompanied by relevant figures and tables Together, the templates and pearls provide an essential and unique practice resource for optimal and clinically relevant reporting. The book also serves as a succinct educational tool for radiology trainees and practicing radiologists who may not interpret specific highly specialized types of studies on a daily basis. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
The Resident's Orientation Handbook
by
The Resident's Orientation Handbook: Guide to the ACGME Requirements, Third Edition Vicki L. Hamm ACGME answers at your fingertips! Here is all the key information your residents need to know about the ACGME requirements in a concise, easy-to-reference handbook. Residents will find tips and explanations of the ACGME standards related to: Milestones and core competencies Duty hours Evaluations Information security and privacy Documentation This handbook will become residents' go-to resource as they learn the ins and outs of your residency program's requirements. This is the perfect handbook to distribute to residents as they enter your program. What's New? New sections: Title IX Privacy and Information Security Due Process Updated to include: Next Accreditation System Milestones Clinical Competency Committee
The Physician Advisor's Guide to Clinical Documentation Improvement
by
The Physician Advisor's Guide to Clinical Documentation Improvement Trey La Charité, MD James S. Kennedy, MD, CCS, CDIP Physician advisors are not just needed for case management anymore. ICD-10-CM/PCS and the changing landscape of healthcare reimbursement make their input invaluable in the realm of CDI and coding, too. This book will help your physician advisors quickly understand the vital role they play and how they can not only help improve healthcare reimbursement, but also reduce claims denials and improve the quality of care overall. This book will: Provide job descriptions and sample roles and responsibilities for CDI physician advisors Outline the importance of CDI efforts in specific relation to the needs and expectations of physicians Highlight documentation improvement focus areas by Major Diagnostic Category Review government initiatives and claims denial patterns, providing physician advisors concrete tools to sway physician documentation Table of Contents CDI Foundation Team composition Staff responsibilities Core competencies Program structure Risk and severity adjustments Data sources Risk of mortality and secondary diagnoses Physician Compare Provider profiling Payment models Bundled payments MS-DRGs/APR-DRGs HCCs Value-based purchasing HACs/POAs E/M Coding foundations Transition to ICD-10 Cooperating Parties Examples of increased specificity Coding guidelines as they apply to CDI Coding Clinic influence Query compliance Evolution of query practices Effective query creation Auditing/monitoring queries Clinical conditions Stroke Altered mental status Encephalopathy Functional quadriplegia Respiratory failure Pneumonia Cardiovascular diseases Kidney disease Surgical complications Musculoskeletal Diabetes Malnutrition Pediatrics, obstetrics Neoplasms Sepsis Regulatory oversight/auditors Recovery Auditors Medicare Administrative Contractors Compliance concerns Electronic health record CDI program monitoring Auditing Communicating statistics Locating concerns
Research During Medical Residency
by
This book is a guide for medical residents and faculty in the fundamentals of clinical research, publication practices, and conference skills. It offers advice on how to incorporate scholarly activities into training routines, so the process becomes more manageable and less burdensome. Suggestions for pursuing other scholarly activities, outside of clinical research, are also offered. Participation in research and other scholarly activities is a requirement for graduation from medical residency programs in the United States and many other countries. Faculty physicians who train residents are also required to produce annual scholarly work. Adding scholarship onto an already long list of requirements often feels a bit daunting to medical residents and the faculty who teach them. Fortunately, there are many forms of scholarly activity, including basic and clinical research, quality improvement projects, and educational assessments, so everyone can find interesting and feasible projects to complete. This valuable reference provides users with a reliable source to turn to whenever they have questions on how to develop, conduct, publish, or present a research project. Written with the perspective of busy faculty and residents in mind, the content balances the need for enough detail to be instructive with the need for quick access to key points.
Medical Writing
by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Principles of Scientific Writing and Biomedical Publication
by
Principles of Scientific Writing and Biomedical Publication is a practical, comprehensive, state-of-the-art guide designed to enhance understanding of the principles of scientific publication, promote improved writing and manuscript preparation skills, and help navigate the seemingly complex pathway from manuscript submission, through peer review and revision, to successful publication. The book presents common issues that arise during the scientific publishing process; describes the ethical and practical aspects related to manuscript preparation, reporting research, and writing reviews and opinion articles; and guides authors on effectively interacting with journal editors. The unique feature of this book is that all contributors currently serve or have served as editors for major biomedical journals, including JAMA and the JAMA Network Journals, or have extensive experience and knowledge related to biomedical publications and information dissemination. Collectively, the authors of the 41 chapters in this book have published thousands of articles, including research reports and opinion articles, and have hundreds of "editor-years" of experience serving as editors of major journals. The authors also have been extensively involved with numerous aspects of biomedical publishing, including developing and implementing editorial policies and procedures; organizing and participating in international and national conferences and committees on peer review, scientific publishing, reporting guidelines, and biomedical information dissemination; and teaching scientific writing and publishing at academic centers and major conferences. Accordingly, the information, recommendations, and advice in this book are based on the collective insights of experienced editors and other experts in biomedical publication and will help guide the preparation of high-quality manuscripts suitable for publication in biomedical journals and demystify the scientific publication process.
Writing for Publication in Nursing
by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects
by
Amazon, 11 reviews for 5-star average: "Excellent, very helpful, to the point, concise without leaving out important details." "Really helps and is easy to understand." This practical, concise, and accessible guide for graduate students and advanced clinicians delivers step-by-step guidelines for integrating research and best evidence to produce concise, well-written project proposals. Health care professionals in advanced practice are increasingly being asked to be able to deliver clinical project proposals using best evidence for advancing quality patient care. With the same "must know" clinical scholarship tools of the first edition, this revision provides practical guidelines of common project models for developing and writing a tight proposal from start to finish while leaving room for the unique nature of most clinical project topics. The second edition includes a completely new chapter on quality improvement concepts, new project proposal abstracts, and new information specific to the DNP project from the AACN. Using the same three-part organization to walk through the intricacies of planning, writing, and completing scholarly project proposals, this new edition also adds new key features to keep readers engaged with the text and their own ongoing or forthcoming proposal. Chapters have been updated to include websites for additional learning, as well as advice from DNP students who have themselves successfully completed project proposals. Reflective questions, tips for completing proposals, exemplars, and reader activities throughout the book facilitate readers' greater understanding of projects and subsequent proposals. New to the Second Edition: A new chapter on quality improvement concepts Advice from DNP students who have themselves completed proposals Chapter updates and edits for enhanced clarity Websites for additional learning New information specific to the DNP project based on guidance from the AACN Increased emphasis on the Project Triangle, an important foundational structure Key Features: Provides topflight guidance in proposal writing for DNP and other nursing clinical projects Details parameters for integrating scholarship with clearly communicated professional objectives Contains numerous writing prompts and questions that guide students in reflective scholarly writing Offers examples of good writing, reflective questions, and tools for self-assessment Offers helpful tips for making proposals concise yet complete
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals
by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health
Scholarly Inquiry and the DNP Capstone
by
"This wonderful and informative resource provides a definitive base of information for those engaged in clinical inquiry. It not only presents the information in a systematic format, it also provides specific examples of projects that have been completed by advanced practice nurses." Score: 100, 5 Stars.óDoodyís Medical Reviews Advanced nursing practitioners who conduct practice-based studies will welcome this innovative text designed specifically to meet their clinical inquiry and research needs. It is the only book to address the complexities of inquiry from a practice /project, rather than research, perspective. The text builds on research concepts learned in the undergraduate and beginning levels of graduate study that, combined with the vast amount of knowledge and experience gained by the APN student, facilitate movement to the next level of understanding how clinical research differs from traditional quantitative research. The book fosters the development of such skills as finding, reading, critiquing, and translating research for use in evidenced-based practice within the health care system, with a specific population, or for policy development. The foundation of the text is the Scholarship of Integration and Application, one of the core competencies of DNP education. Content is clearly organized to build from simple to greater complexity of information and each chapter features learning objectives, learning activities, review questions, and recommendations for additional reading. Key Features: Provides a practice guide for clinical inquiry and research used to demonstrate practice outcomes Written by a senior faculty highly experienced in teaching the clinical inquiry course Illustrates the application of ëScholarship of Integration and Applicationí core competency Presents content systematically from simple to complex Clearly written and useful as a guide for DNP student program/project design and evaluation
DNP Capstone Projects
by
This unique book not only explains the introduction of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) role but also bridges the DNP essentials with the evidence-based practice framework. It includes wonderful examples of exciting scholarship, but also illustrates how the evidence is then translated into clinical practice...This is a wonderful resource for students completing a DNP degree. It is an excellent book for expanding the understanding of the capstone project and the importance of dissemination of nursing knowledge to improve patient care and outcomes. Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars Kathleen Woodruff Doody's Medical Reviews With a unique focus on exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects, this book delivers key information on designing, constructing, and completing a high quality capstone project. It demonstrates the impact that a well-conceived capstone project can have on facilitating change and addresses all program, administrative, policy, and clinical issues that DNP students may encounter during the capstone process. The book examines a variety of capstone projects from across the U.S.--quality improvement projects, strategic plans, advocacy, clinical case narratives, and other innovations--that demonstrate efficacy in clinical nursing practice outcomes and positive impact upon the health care environment. The book analyzes the components of these exemplary capstones to demonstrate how each has provided leadership for change in practice, promoted interdisciplinary collaboration, contributed to advocacy and policy change, and enhanced quality improvement in health care systems. Key Features: Focuses on a wide range of exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects Provides a roadmap for excellence in creating capstone projects Analyzes components of capstones that have effected positive change Includes strategies for implementing evidence-based practices for nurses and other health care providers Highlights DNP leadership and resulting positive changes in clinical practice
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students
by
Combining the theory and practice of academic writing, this book helps you to master the basics of writing at university. It equips you with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing your work correctly and avoiding plagiarism. A comprehensive writing toolkit for students of nursing, midwifery, health and social care, it provides a step-by-step approach to a whole range of genres specific to these disciplines, going beyond the traditional academic essay to include care critiques, action plans, portfolios and systemic reviews as well as complex argumentative writing and the undergraduate dissertation proposal. It also offers help with texts for professional development such as portfolios and conference abstracts. Supporting you throughout your degree, this new edition includes: - A new section on making effective notes; - An updated section on reflection including the latest reflective models; - A wider range of examples covering areas such as mental health, children and learning disabilities in nursing and midwifery care; and - A self-assessment quiz and achievement chart to help you track your learning as you work through the book. Written in a lively, engaging and accessible style, this book is an invaluable companion for students at all levels, and will give you the confidence to succeed on your course.
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Third Edition
by
This is a book about writing your dissertation or scholarly project. It is intentionally small because the last thing a doctoral student needs is another doorstop-sized book to buy, read, and lug around. This is a step-by-step guide to help you write your dissertation or scholarly project. It will not help you design or conduct research or quality improvement initiatives, but it will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. This book takes you step by step through writing your dissertation or scholarly project, with chapters that correspond exactly with the chapters of a dissertation or scholarly project. There's no fluff here-no attempt to make the book look bigger to attract attention. All this book intends to do is to help you successfully write your dissertation or scholarly project, and does so in a succinct and logical way, with only the occasional interruption for important tips gleaned the hard way.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fifth Edition
by
If you need to make the leap from single sentences to a published manuscript, you will find valuable help and resources in this fully updated fifth edition of Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses. Lead author and editor Cynthia Saver, along with 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision-makers, share important insights to help you craft a quality manuscript and get it accepted for publication. LEARN HOW TO: Improve your writing skills Create effective titles, abstracts, and cover letters Write review articles, including systematic, scoping, and integrative reviews Report evidence-based practice projects or qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods studies Write collaboratively with professionals in other healthcare disciplines Turn your dissertation or DNP project into a published article Understand preprints, reporting guidelines, and publication legal/ethical issues Promote your work via posters and social media
Student Workbook for Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fifth Edition
by
This workbook, a companion to Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fifth Edition, provides students and other learners with multiple practice opportunities. These opportunities will help build excellent writing skills. The workbook also provides the opportunity to further explore writing for publication.
Nursing Literature Reviews
by
Literature reviews are undertaken by students, researchers, clinicians and educationalists - that is, almost all nurses. Despite much excellent work, exploring the assumptions and practices that constitute searching for and reviewing literature has merit, and prompting those who undertake these activities to think critically about what it is that they are doing should be encouraged. Widely adopted approaches to structuring reviews (the "standard model") can detrimentally limit the scope or range of literature that is accessed and appraised. It is further proposed that a lack of professional ambition or confidence invests aspects of the way some nurses engage with the sources that are available to them. Across the book, parochialism is challenged. The crucial roles that values and judgement play in reviews are highlighted. It is argued that humanities and arts texts deserve, potentially, a bigger or more assured place in reviews undertaken by nurses. Difficulties in appraising quantitative and qualitative research reports are identified, and benefits linked with taking a contemplative line through the review process are considered. This book contributes to debates around evidence-based practice and literature reviews more generally. It will appeal to anyone with an interest in professional issues, research, and the philosophy and sociology of nursing.
Writing High-Quality Medical Publications
by
The imperative to "publish and not perish" has never been more compelling. Yet millions of manuscripts are prepared each year without a clear path to publication by a peer-reviewed medical journal. Enter "The Gutkin Manual." Drawing from the author's distinguished, nearly 30-year career, this comprehensive and supportive guide helps to get your paper accepted--and by the journal of first choice. Elucidating pivotal principles of quality, and biostatistics, and informed by the belief that your writing can be engaging, elegant, and memorable--no matter how technical and complex the subject matter, this volume can be your trustworthy companion as you seek to enhance both the structure and substance of your manuscripts.
How to Write, Publish, and Present in the Health Sciences
by
From the acclaimed author of the standard reference on reporting statistics in medicine, this new resource explains how to create effective scientific articles, research proposals, abstracts, posters, and slide presentations. It describes how to write efficiently and how to prepare tables, charts, graphs, illustrations, and images for publication. A wealth of key concepts, practical information, common mistakes, and helpful tips make this book invaluable to novice researchers and seasoned professionals alike. This book is sure to become the leading reference on health-science communications!
Publishing Your Medical Research
by
Publishing Your Medical Research is the second edition of the award-winning book that provides practical information on how to write a publishable paper. This edition includes additional details to help medical researchers succeed in the competitive "publish or perish" world. Using a direct and highly informative style, it does more than help you write a paper; it presents the technical information, invaluable modern advice, and practical tips you need to get your paper accepted for publication. A singular source for the beginning and experienced researcher alike, Publishing Your Medical Research is a must for any physician, fellow, resident, medical scientist, graduate student, or biostatistician seeking to be published. Praise for Publishing Your Medical Research "This book is an excellent and well-documented guide to the design of clinical trials, the analysis of data, and the construction of a high-quality manuscript. Both the novice and the expert will derive many helpful suggestions from its content." Gertrude B. Elion, D.Sc. Nobel Laureate in Medicine "Where medical school lacks, this book provides. In one volume, Dan Byrne gathers essential information for all authors interested in publishing biomedical papers." Robert Jacoby Former Editor, American Medical Writers Association Journal Book Awards: American Medical Writers Association: Will Solimene Award, Outstanding quality - Print media Ralph A. Deterling Award, Distinction in Medical Communication Morris Fishbein Award, Honorable mention for excellence in medical communication for health professionals Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research
by
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research, Third Edition is an excellent primer for investigators who wish to learn how to organize, present, and publish results of their research. Written by an experienced clinical researcher and editor, it uses hundreds of examples, tables and figures to show how to produce successful abstracts, posters, oral presentations, and manuscripts for publication. This book also serves as a companion to the popular text, Designing Clinical Research. This edition contains the latest: * Guidance on getting work accepted in medical journals and at scientific meetings * Examples of the do's and don'ts of data presentation * Explanations of confusing statistical terminology * Templates to get started and avoid writers' block * Tips for creating simple graphics and tables * Help for those who are not fluent in English * Suggestions about getting the most from a poster session * Checklists for each section of a manuscript or presentation * Advice about authorship and responding to reviewers' comments Plus with this edition, there is access to a companion website with fully searchable text so you can access the content anytime, anywhere.
How to Write and Get Published
by
Written by two librarians with extensive publication experience, this book provides practical techniques and tools to prepare librarians to publish successfully. This book is neither a research methodology nor a 'craft of writing' book. Instead, its sole goal is to help librarians (and other information science professionals) start writing, identify an outlet for publication, and publish successfully. It dispels the mythos surrounding "scholarly writing" by providing practical tools and advice to help soon-to-be authors get started on the publication journey now. This book will guide aspiring authors step-by-step through the writing and publication process, from nurturing an idea to fruition all the way to enjoying a successful publication. Along the way, readers will learn how to identify the best publication type and venue, gather the needed information to make a convincing argument, and skillfully manage even the most complex project. Topics range from cerebral (such as how to maintain motivation through a project) to technical (such as common grammar and vocabulary errors), but all are designed to be practical and of immediate use to a writer. Whether a graduate student at the beginning of your career in the field of information sciences, a newly minted librarian fresh out of graduate school, a library administrator at the peak of your career, or somewhere in between, publishing can keep you engaged in the issues facing the profession and enhance your career and professional success. Readers will be inspired and ready to contribute to library scholarship and start building their own successful scholarly habit.
The Dissertation Journey
by
Correction Notice: Corwin Press made an error when printing the cover for this update. MLA 8 should not be included. How to reach the pinnacle of academic achievement The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, social, and psychological obstacles along the way, you need a knowledgeable guide and the right tools. Written in an engaging and motivational style, The Dissertation Journey is a comprehensive how-to guide for graduate students faced with the challenge of developing and writing a quality dissertation. Readers of this new edition will find Expanded and updated coverage of crucial topics such as conducting a literature review, dissertation support groups, and harnessing technology to conduct research Graphics, quotes, illustrations, progress tracking tools, sample forms, a new chapter-ending resources feature, and other user-friendly elements Thoroughly updated and revised chapters with the most current need-to-know information This clear, practical guidebook will make the journey to "doctor" smoother and help you reach your academic goals. "The Dissertation Journey has been a valuable read for more than a decade. Dr. Roberts and Dr. Hyatt bring years of doctoral teaching and dissertation advising experience to this essential book." --Stuart Allen, Professor of Organizational Leadership Robert Morris University "This book contains sound academic research advice in an easy to understand and follow format. The book's benefits extend beyond the dissertation to any subsequent scholarship that the reader undertakes." --Farzin Madjidi, Associate Dean, Education Division Pepperdine University
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fifth Edition
by
If you need to make the leap from single sentences to a published manuscript, you will find valuable help and resources in this fully updated fifth edition of Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses. Lead author and editor Cynthia Saver, along with 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision-makers, share important insights to help you craft a quality manuscript and get it accepted for publication. LEARN HOW TO: Improve your writing skills Create effective titles, abstracts, and cover letters Write review articles, including systematic, scoping, and integrative reviews Report evidence-based practice projects or qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods studies Write collaboratively with professionals in other healthcare disciplines Turn your dissertation or DNP project into a published article Understand preprints, reporting guidelines, and publication legal/ethical issues Promote your work via posters and social media
The Editor's Handbook
by
The completely updated 3rd edition of The Editor's Handbook is an invaluable resource to all those involved in various aspects of scholarly writing in nursing. Both novice and experienced editors will no doubt find the information quite useful, as they did the first two editions. Although the main focus of the handbook is on the editors of nursing journals, all types of nurse writers will appreciate the extensive details and helpful tips. Nurses who are in the process of preparing manuscripts for publication can use the handbook to enhance their success at journal acceptance by getting a unique view of the editor's role and perspective.
CPT Professional 2025
by
CPT® 2025 Professional Edition is the definitive American Medical Association (AMA)-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Health care professionals want accurate reporting of services rendered and reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2025 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code and report medical services and procedures properly. The AMA also takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers, such as inclusion of the Amazon Anti Privacy Sticker and nonintrusive light-yellow dots on almost every page to reduce print reproduction in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. Recognizing that racism is a threat to the advancement of health equity and a barrier to appropriate medical care, as well as the power of images in contributing and limiting what bodies physicians, medical professionals, and students learn to see and define as normal and standard, the CPT 2025 Professional Edition will feature 29 diversity-related illustrations to counter a deep-seated, culturally, and systemically biased norm. These diversity-related images continue advancing inclusive and equitable representation of a diverse range of skin tones in our medical educational resources for everyone who uses our codebook in their daily work, practice, and education. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2025 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information to popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set. A comprehensive index -- locate codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation quickly. Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and services/procedures discussed. Overall codebook table of contents --enable a quick search of the entire codebook's content for quick access. Section table of contents -- provide a useful tool to navigate effectively and quickly through each section's codes. Complete list of the additions, deletions and revisionsfor codes and code descriptors -- provide a summary and quick reference of the 2025 changes in the codes without having to compare editions. Multiple appendices -- offer additional information for modifiers; add-on codes; images of vascular families; re-sequenced codes, MAAAs and PLA services, digital medicine-services taxonomy; guidance for classifying various AI applications of AI for medical services and procedures; and all audio-only telemedicine CPT codes. Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes. Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection.
2025 ICD-10-CM Expert: Diagnosis Codes for Providers & Facilities
by
ICD-10 PCS Expert 2025 : Inpatient Procedure Codes for Facilities
by
2025 HCPCS Level II Expert : Service/Supply Codes for Caregivers & Suppliers
by
Pediatric Coding Q&a: Expert Advice from the AAP Coding Hotline
by
For years, the AAP Coding Hotline has been a trusted resource for pediatricians and others with coding conundrums. Pediatric Coding Q&A:Expert Advice from the AAP Coding Hotline is a compilation of the hotline's "greatest hits," featuring guidance on everything from coding for specific clinical conditions to applying both common and evolving coding concepts. Readers will also find coding tips peppered throughout the guidance as well as lists of resources for learning more about individual conditions and concepts.
Coding for Pediatrics 2025
by
This updated 30th edition of Coding for Pediatrics includes all changes in Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) codes--complete with expert guidance for their application. The book's recently updated vignettes and examples, as well as the many coding pearls throughout, provide added guidance needed to ensure accuracy and payment. Key updates CTP 2025 code updates This edition introduces a range of new codes and guidelines, including: New chapter discussing telemedicine code changes Immunization coding updates Addition of codes for reporting contraception services Update to coding for skin substitute grafts Coding for Pediatrics 2025 is divided into the following parts: Part 1: Coding Basics and Business Essentials includes information on code sets, compliance, and business topics such as billing and payment methodologies. Part 2: Primarily for the Office and Other Outpatient Settings includes information on coding and billing of services such as office visits, outpatient consultations, and preventive services. Part 3: Primarily for Hospital Settings includes information on coding for inpatient and observation services, including newborn care and surgical procedures. Part 4: Digital Medicine Services includes discussion of the evolving codes for reporting telemedicine services and remote monitoring and interpretation of patient data. Appendices include o A table of pediatric vaccine product codes o Test Your Knowledge! answer key Supplemental material is provided online, accessible with an access code, including a general documentation checklist, tracking worksheets for chronic care management, and care plan oversight services. A continuing education quiz to earn 4.0 continuing education units from the American Academy of Professional Coders is also available online.
The Essential Guide to Coding in Otolaryngology
by
"The Essential Guide to Coding in Otolaryngology: Coding, Billing, and Practice Management, Second Edition is a comprehensive manual on how to properly and compliantly code for both surgical and non-surgical services. It is a practical guide for all otolaryngology providers in the United States, including physicians early in their career requiring a working knowledge of the basics, experienced providers looking to understand the latest updates with ICD-10-CM and CPT changes, related specialists (audiology, speech pathology, physician extenders) providing otolaryngologic health care, and office administrative teams managing coding and billing. Included are sections on how to approach otolaryngology coding for all sub-specialties in both the office and operating room. Foundational topics, such as understanding the CPT and ICD-10-CM systems, use of modifiers, managing claim submissions and appeals, legal implications for the provider, coding for physician extenders, and strategies to optimize billing, are presented by experts in the field"--
Evaluation and Management Coding Reference Guide
by
"Safeguard your organization from claim denials and audit scrutiny with the Evaluation & Management Coding Reference Guide. Our experts break down E/M coding rules and requirements into simple, manageable steps written in everyday language to boost your E/M reporting skills. Learn how to level an encounter based on the updated medical decision making and time guidelines — and capitalize on real-world clinical scenarios to prevent over- or undercoding." -Summary by Publisher
Physician Practice Compliance Reference Guide
by
"From start to finish, the Physician Practice Compliance Reference Guide lays out your legal requirements in easy-to-follow language, packed with practical guidance. Our experts will equip you to plan and execute a compliance program that meets state and Federal laws. You’ll learn how to draft compliance policies, build a risk-proof infrastructure, document your activities, apply self-auditing techniques, and create a user-friendly training program." -Summary from publisher
Coding for Medical Necessity Reference Guide
by
"Stay liability-free and get reimbursed for your services with reliable medical necessity know-how. AAPC’s Coding for Medical Necessity Reference Guide provides you with step-by-step tutorials to remedy the range of documentation and coding issues at the crux of medical necessity claim errors."
Clinical Documentation Reference Guide
by
"Providing the most complete and accurate coding of diagnoses and site-specific procedures will vastly improve your practice’s bottom line. Get the help you need with the Clinical Documentation Reference Guide."
Telemedicine & Telehealth Reference Guide
by
"Trust the experts at AAPC to leverage the advantages of telehealth and build your practice’s volume. The Telemedicine & Telehealth Reference Guide will put you on the path to reimbursement, walking you through covered services, new code options, proper modifier use, conditions of payment, security protocols, and more."
Federal Resume Guidebook, 6th Edition
by
Because federal jobs tend to offer high pay, great benefits, and a strong employee support system, they are some of the most coveted opportunities in todays job market. As a result, competition for these jobs is at a record high. To survive the initial resume screening, let alone achieve one of these in-demand jobs, candidates must understand how federal resumes are different from resumes for other occupations and know how to write them effectively. This book reveals the essential information and much more. Recently, the Hiring Reform Initiative completely changed the federal hiring process. The new edition of this best-selling book explains these new processes and procedures and teaches people how to write winning federal resumes.
Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers
by
This collection of resumes is aimed at people seeking health care jobs at all levels from allied health technicians to physicians. Health care is one of the very few fields that is still growing in these troubled economic times. In addition to hundreds of pages of sample resumes, the authors present sound resume writing advice, including how to create and use an electronic resume and whether to use a resume or a CV. New for this edition are a chapter on writing cover letters plus cover letter samples, as well as updates to all resumes throughout.
Get the Job You Really Want
by
A practical, comprehensive guide to job search and interview success.Make your job search, interview experience and career a success with Get the job you really want. From setting goals to negotiating your job offer, you can discover all of the inside tips on how to secure that job or promotion, build your value proposition, online brand and CV.Uncover hidden interview techniques and ways to stand out to employers. Be sought after for your skills, experience, personality and the value that you add to the right environment.With over ten years' experience in recruitment, careers, and supporting job seekers, Erin Devlin goes behind the curtain and gives you the insider's guide to job search success. In a world where we spend more than a third of our waking week at work, why not make it enjoyable, engaging and fulfilling? Bring your skills, experience and talents to the fore and help your career take off.Don't just get a job. Get the job you really want.
Jobseeker's Guide: Ten Steps to a Federal Job® for military and spouses
by
This is the resource guide used at over 150 military bases worldwide to teach Kathryn Troutmans highly acclaimed Ten Steps to a Federal Job® to military personnel and family members. The Jobseekers Guide is written for both separating/retiring military and family members who are seeking US government jobs! This new edition continues to use a colourful workbook style loaded with pages of exercises, samples and charts and is easy to understand. This updated edition contains the newest information on special hiring programs for military members and spouses, updates with the latest federal hiring changes and initiatives, latest salary information and before and after resumes.
Cracking the Federal Job Code
by
If you've got what it takes to be a civil servant for the federal government, it can be frustrating to apply to positions and never get an interview. You're not alone: thousands of people apply to federal jobs without success, and many of them are experienced professionals just like you. The ones who get the jobs aren't necessarily more qualified'they've just mastered the process. Corliss Jackson, formerly with the US Office of Personnel Management and the author of the Washington Post's weekly federal jobs column, Corliss's Corner, reveals the secrets you need to learn to: ?master the federal application process; ?qualify for federal jobs; ?create your federal resume; ?stand out in a sea of qualified candidates; ?understand what's needed for security clearances. The cobwebs clouding the federal hiring process can be difficult to clear, which is why you need someone with more than twenty years of experience in federal human resources to help show you the way. Break through the red, white, and blue tape that stands in between you and your federal dream job, and start Cracking the Federal Job Code.
The Veteran's WORK Book
by
Kevin "Dauber" Lacz is a former Navy SEAL sniper, breacher, combat medic and co-author of The Veteran's WORK Book. When Lacz read The WORK Book, by Bill Hobbs, he immediately realized the need for a version for veterans transitioning out of the military and into a new civilian career. Lacz shared, "Veterans with military experience can be valuable assets in the business world. In addition to job skills, they have experience leading, being led, and performing under pressure. However, it's necessary for veterans to learn how to function in their new environment." This book is unlike any other book on the market. -Show readers how to plan for and transition to the right career -Teaches readers how to create a strong personal brand -Offers keen insights on creating an effective resume, preparing for interviews, and negotiating with companies -Facilitates immediate process application through worksheets that accompany text -Can be read in less than two hours and applied immediately
Military Transition for Dummies
by
All the things you need to know when you're putting the military in your rear view In Military Transition For Dummies, you'll talk a walk through how to transition from active military service to civilian life as smoothly and easily as possible. You'll discover how to make the nuts-and-bolts changes to reach your potential in your new lifestyle. From finding a job you love to navigating educational opportunities and keeping yourself mentally strong, this vital book shows you how to: Find your next career, including how to write an effective resume and conduct a thorough job search Protect your mental and physical well-being by seeking out and accessing the supports you want and need Manage your money and make the financial adjustments that are necessary for succeeding in the civilian world Perfect for active service members who are expecting to transition out of the military in the near future, Military Transition For Dummies is also ideal for anyone who's recently left the service and hopes to make the most of their new life.
Roadmap to the Senior Executive Service, 2nd Edition
by
Learn how to find Senior Executive Service (SES) government jobs, determine your qualifications, and develop your application. As a new generation of leaders steps forward to transform the federal government, will you be among them?
The Stars Are Lined up for Military Spouses(r), 3rd Ed
by
Must-have Federal Career Book for Active-Duty Military Spouses. Explains special government hiring programs and the best way to write a Federal resume for Active-Duty spouses. The challenge for military spouses is being relocated every two to four years. Finding permanent, career positions with frequent relocations is difficult. The US Government has positions on every military base. The Stars Are Lined Up for Military Spouses is dedicated to helping military spouses navigate the complex federal job application system. The Stars Are Lined Up for Military Spouses covers four different ways to land four different kinds of positions with the federal government: USAJOBS competitive hiring; Excepted service jobs; Non-Appropriated Fund (NAF) jobs; Military Spouse Preference (MSP) jobs. Each of these paths requires different job search techniques and tips. Kathryn Troutman, known as the Federal Resume Guru, shares straightforward strategies based on her 40+ years of expertise with resume writing and career coaching. Military spouses will be encouraged and equipped to take control of their career. This reader-friendly publication includes updates with the latest federal hiring changes and initiatives; before and after resume samples; and clear step-by-step instructions.
Transitioning Your Federal Resume to Private Industry
by
Two million Federal employees received an email from OPM per President Trumps EO with the offer to resign by Feb. 6th, 2025 and work for 8 months with full pay and benefits. The federal employees have to sign this letter by Feb. 6th. This book is to help the federal employees edit / target / format their first-ever two-page private-industry resume from their usually long (5 to 15 pages) Federal resumes. The book covers the steps to leave government and apply for jobs in Private Industry.
The Writing Cure
by
The Writing Cure presents groundbreaking research on the cognitive, emotional, and biological pathways through which disclosure and expressive writing influences mental and physical health. Although writing has been a popular therapeutic technique for years, only recently have researchers subjected it to rigorous scientific scrutiny and applied it to persons suffering from physical illnesses such as cancer and hypertension. Contributors present cutting-edge findings on expressive writing and health outcomes and point students and scientists to new avenues of research. The volume is rich in illustrations of clinical applications for this technique and it provides examples of how expressive writing can improve the immune system and lung function, how it can diminish psychological distress and enhance relationships and social-role functioning. It also includes discussions of alternative writing intervention formats, including workbooks and the Internet. Featuring a revealing epilogue by James Pennebaker, one of the pioneers of expressive writing intervention, this volume will be of interest to researchers and practitioners who explore and work with expressive-therapy techniques.
Therapeutic Journal Writing
by
Writing a journal is not just about keeping a record of daily events - journal writing provides a unique therapeutic opportunity for facilitating healing and growth. The author of this book guides the reader through developing journal writing to use as a therapeutic tool. Keeping a journal can help the writer to develop a better understanding of themselves, their relationships and the world around them, as well as improve skills of problem-solving, decision-making and planning. As such, journal writing can be a powerful complement to verbal therapy, offering an effective and affordable way of extending support to troubled clients. The book includes advice on working with individuals, facilitating a therapeutic writing group, proposed clinical applications, practical techniques, useful journal prompts, exercises and case vignettes. This clear guide to the basics of journaling and its development as a therapeutic medium will be a valuable handbook for therapists, health and social care practitioners, teachers, life coaches, writing facilitators and any professional seeking personal development in themselves or their clients.
Poetry and Story Therapy
by
Poetry and short stories can act as powerful springboards to growth, self-enhancement and healing. With the guidance of a facilitator, participants can engage with their own creative expression, and with that of others, and in doing so find opportunities to voice their truth, affirm their strengths, and find new ways of coping with challenges. This accessible book explores the therapeutic possibilities of poetry and stories, exploring ways of selecting appropriate works for discussion, and providing techniques for facilitating personally relevant and growth-enhancing sessions. The author provides ideas and suggestions for personal writing activities that emerge from or intertwine with this discussion, and explains how participants can create their own poetic and narrative pieces using other media, such as music, photographs, film, paintings, objects, and physical movement. The book references a wide variety of specific poems, short stories and films to use as prompts to creative writing, and contains a useful bibliography of poetry collections, story anthologies and film resources as well as a list of further resources and template feedback forms. Combining theory with a multitude of case examples and innovative ideas for practical, experiential activities, this book is a valuable introduction for creative arts therapy students and practitioners, mental health and medical professionals, and anyone else interested in the healing possibilities of creative expression.
Classes on copyright for educators can be scheduled with librarians. Estimated class time is 1 hour.
